APRIL 9, 2021
Booger Brooks Goes Three Wide For the Lead and Eventual Win in Thriller at Ray Cook's Hidden Gem
The night had finally come to return to Ray Cook's TriCounty Race Track in Brasstown, NC for the first time since 2019. The threat of rain was a problem all evening long and twenty-three cars sign in to do battle. With rain on the way adjustments were made to the stanard show to make sure we got the feature event in for the night. This didn't hurt the action and racing in any way as one person said this event was the best 604 late model race they had ever seen at the end of the night! (Candice McCue Photo)

Tri-County local racer, Jason Deal, flexed some mussle in hot laps as he set the quick time a of a 13.7602. Carson Ferguson who entered his first AAS race of the year turn in second quick in hot laps with a 13.8352. Sylvan Schuette, who has been nothing but impressive in his first two races this year, went third quick in hot laps with a 13.9165. William Blankenship, Warrior Race Cars Rookie of the Year Contender, was fourth quick with a 13.974 and Brian Kinnersley who has problems early in the night, did have a good hot lap session in his series debut with the fifth quick time of a 14.1587.

When Earl Ramey Racing Engines Qualifying rolled around it was Jason Welshan's night as he turned in the quick time of a 13.4947. Zach Sise went second quick after ssome issues with his primary car in hot laps with a time of 13.5446. Sylvan Schuette was still fast turning a time of 13.5587 for third and Drew Deaver crossed the line fourth fastest with a 13.5886. Jason Deal rounded out the top five in qualifying with a 13.6089.

With the threat of weather in the forecast, we went straight from qualifying in to the 40 Lap VolHeel Spring Shootout. Zach Sise jumped to the early lead with Welshan chasing. Booger Brooks went straight to work from his sixth place starting spot picking off fifth, fourth, and eventually moving into the third place position. As the drivers got into lapped traffic things got really exciting for the lead. On lap 10 with the leaders closing into lapped traffic Zach Sise was ready to start navigating through. He choose to go to the high side of Daniel Casteel in turns 1 and 2 and Welshan and Brooks made it four-wide with Casteel and Sise going for the lead. Coming off of two the the ran out of racetrack which ended in a caution and early ending to the night for Casteel. Racing resumed and Sise, Welshan, and Brooks all three wanted to win the event. The drivers all battled looking for different groves to move through the racetrack. Then, it finally came, Welshan made a power move going for the lead, but Brooks was there too. The drivers wer three-wide for first in turns one and two, and Brooks came out with the lead after running third. The drivers then went to work still battling it out for the top three. while Ferguson, Schuette, Deaver, and Lewelling battled just behind them.

On lap thirty-five AAS regular Andrew Littleton, had engine issues ending his night early and bringing out one final caution. With five laps or less to go it meant for a single file restart. This gave Welshan one more oppurtunity to go for the win as he did get inside of Brooks in one and two, but Brooks wheeld his car off the corner and held the lead. He would go on to lead the rest of the way winning his first ever AAS feature victory! Welshan would come home second with Carson Ferguson stealing away third from Zach Sise on the last lap. Zach Sise brought his #9 home fourth and Sylvan Schuette would finish fifth giving him a tie for second in the points. Bradley Lewelling came home sixth which was good enough to give him his first ever series points lead. Drew Deaver, in his firs start with the series since 2019, came home seventh. Chris Chandler, rebounded after heartbreak last week, to finish eight. Trevor Sise piloted the #73 home ninth after a very quiet night for the 2020 points champion and Logan Roberson rounded out the top ten.

American Pro Late Model All-Star Series:
1) 148 Booger Brooks $2,500
2) 01 Jason Welshan
3) 00f Carson Ferguson
4) 9s Zach Sise
5) 14 Sylvan Schuette
6) 10b Bradley Lewelling
7) 12 Drew Deaver
8) 8 Chris Chandler
9) 73 Trevor Sise
10) 17r Logan Roberson
11) 109 Eli Beets
12) 94 Jordan Hedger
13) 110 Jake Whitehead
14) 32 William Blankenship
15) 2 Terry Poore
16) 22t Tim Clark
17) 14h Wil Herrington
18) 87 Andrew Littleton
19) 7 Jason Deal
20) 89 Brandon Miller
21) 26 Daniel Casteel
22) 17 Brett Shook
DNS) 9 Brian Kinnersley

Super Late Model / Limited Late Model:
1) 38 Jamie Oliver
2) 17 Kurt English
3) x15 Shawn Chastain
4) 8 David Payne
5) 86 Jeff Neubert
6) 99 Oreo Thomas
7) 108 Chuck Southard
8) 11c Preston Crisp
9) 12 Rich Standridge
10) 77 Gabe Wilson
DNS) 4 Danny Ledford
DNS) 34 Glenn Barnett

Interstate Welding Modified Street:
1) 25 Jacob Hamby
2) 37 Michael Barnett
3) 42 Johnny Gulizia
4) 4 Jacob Parris
5) 44 Bobby Elkins
6) 727 Bailey Love
7) 81 John Howard
8) 88 Ricky Smith
9) 03 Dante Curtis
10) 22 Matt Sanderfar
11) 51 Randy Dillard
12) 5 Cabe Cagle
13) 56 Colton Berrong
DNS) 45 Brandon Elliott
DNS) 35 Dillon Daves
DNS) 24 Seth Wimpey

Street Stock:
1) 95 Alex Vance
2) 21 Troy Turner
3) 44 Chuck Sims
4) 01 Jacob Lynch
5) 41 Andy Ames
6) 36 Eric Farnham
7) 03 Alan Rich
8) 91 Clint Watkins
9) 1 Logan Johnson
10) 9 Logan Exum
DQ) j69 Jim Weller
DNS) 29 Chris Thomas
DNS) 76 Bobby Thrasher

Beginner Class:
1) 117 Dillon Beaver
2) 22 Tucker Anderson
3) 192 Jay Lynch
4) 4 Mark Ledford
5) 71s Shawn Haire
6) 318
7) 55 Brad Sosebee
DNS) 6c Chandler Hickman
DNS) 9 Jordan Rogers

1) 4m Marty King
2) 441 Matt Gerrin
3) 00 Cam Winkler
4) 18 Damien Holt

Front Wheel Drive:
1) 232 Jim Exum
2) 42x Scott Gosnell
3) 10 Blake Lynch
4) 7 Shannon Jones
5) 26 John Burnette
6) j4 Josh Smith
7) 92 Bobby Lynch
8) 101 Brandon Lynch
9) j3 Josh Deese
10) 38 Matt Cordin
11) 05 Glenn Coker
12) 21 Sean Rice
13) 28 Jason Coates
14) f3 John Fulford
15) k3 James Klaucke
DQ) 192r Brent Lynch
DQ) 71 Dakota Worley


|| home :: news :: schedule :: results :: points :: rules :: payouts :: tarheel 50 :: track info :: lodging :: contact ||

Home News Schedule Results Points Rules Payouts Tarheel 50 Track Info Lodging Contact Delph Communications Website! Southern Nationals Series Website! Ray Cook #53 Website!